top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Children of Blood and Bone Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: Children of Blood and Bone Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Published On: March 6, 2018

Started Reading On: December 4, 2018 Finished On: December 22, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.25 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

This book was pretty good considering it was the author's debut book. I enjoyed the story, for the most part the characters, and I and interested in learning more about the magic system.

The main character, Zélie and her brother Tzain irritated me. When Amari first join with them Tzain hated how Zélie mistrusted her. She had half decent reasons, her father is the reason her mother is dead, and she used her to get out of the trading town. Yet, when Inan joined the club, Tzain hated him for similar reasons. This really pissed me off, because you are both interested in the King's children and the only reason nobody liked each other is because of that.

The romance weren't really that good for me. I felt both of the couples: Tzain and Amari, and Zélie and Inan felt very rushed and they didn't really have a connection in my opinion.

I did like the gradual friendship that happened between Amari and Zélie. You don't really get to see many female friendships that start out rocky and end up in a really good trusting place. I just really enjoy seeing friendships in general.

The worldbuilding was so good. I really liked seeing them explore and going to the different areas in the world. I also enjoyed seeing the magic. The different kinds of maji was really cool, and I loved when they were talking about the different deities.

“I teach you to be warriors in the garden so you will never be gardeners in the war.”

“I won't let your ignorance silence my pain”

“Strength cannot always roar, she said that day. Valor does not always shine.”

bottom of page