top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

What If It's Us Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: What If It's Us Author: Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

Published On: October 9, 2018

Started Reading On: October 11, 2018 Finished On: October 15, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.24 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

So, this book was kind of disappointing to me. This book was extremely hyped up, especially since both Adam and Becky are considered the big contemporary writers, and I didn't think it was anything special.

I really liked Adam's character Ben, I found him so much more relate able, since he wasn't so goddamn cheerful and he wanted to be a writer. I liked seeing his story, with reconnecting with friends and recovering from a breakup.

The main thing I didn't like about the story was all the pop culture references, because it really is going to age the book, and not let it become something that goes throughout history. I also found myself becoming very annoyed at Arthur partly for this reason.

My thing with Arthur is that he blow things out of the water all the goddamn time without letting anyone explain themselves. And he was the most cheerful person ever and that tends to get on my nerves eventually.

I also found the book to be awkward to the point of me being unable to continue on without stopping or skimming paragraph so I am not hit full force with the second had embarrassment.

“I believe in love at first sight. Fate, the universe, all of it. But not how you’re thinking. I don’t mean it in the our souls were split and you’re my other half forever and ever sort of way. I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path.”

“I don’t know if we’re in a love story or a story about love.”

“I barely know him. I guess that is every relationship. You start with nothing and maybe end with everything.”

bottom of page