top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Wonder Woman: Warbringer Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer Author: Leigh Bardugo

Published On: August 28, 2017

Started Reading On: September 26, 2018 Finished On: October 7, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.08 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

Wow, this book, was kind of disappointing in a way. If you didn't know, the last year or so, I got really into comics, and because of that I think I found myself trying to link this book to the comics. And this book didn't really give me a comic vibe.

I found Diana to only have bits and pieces of her comic self. Yes, her comic self is older however, I don't see a connection from Diana from this book to Diana of the comics. Which is unfortunate since I really started to read her comics, and I really love her in them.

I also found the writing to be very different. I love Leigh Bardugo's writing, especially in Six of Crows, and I didn't really feel that in this book. I also found that parts of the writing had scenes that almost felt like forced humor.

Okay I have to say, I really like the style icon of a character that is Nim. I found her to be my favourite part of Diana's track in the human world. Alia was okay, but she was not even close to being one of my favourite characters.

Oh, I wish that we got to see more of the island. I felt like that was what I would expect from a book that was about Diana's teenage years. I wanted to see her interact with the other Amazons. I wanted to see more of the island as a whole. I would love to see Diana interact with her mother.

“Sisters in battle, I am shield and blade to you. As I breathe, your enemies will know no sanctuary. While I live, your cause is mine.”

“You can't live in fear. You make things happen or they happen to you.”

“I am done being careful. I am done being quiet. Let them see me angry. Let them hear me wail at the top of my lungs.”

bottom of page