top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Shadow Crown Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: Shadow Crown Author: Kristen Martin

Published On: October 3, 2017

Started Reading On: September 3, 2018 Finished On: September 9, 2018

Average Star Rating: 3.02 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

So, I follow this author on youtube, and I really like her writing advice videos, however I don't think she put her best foot forward in this book. Hell, in my opinion her first trilogy work out so much better with her writing style.

Let's start with the writing style. I felt as if she was trying to have a certain fantasy writing style, but then she would use words that don't make sense at all for me and wouldn't fit in with the story. I would also like to say, there was a lot of errors in the story, like misspell words, and wrong words being use.

Also, there was so, many perspectives and I didn't really care about any of them. Like even the main main character wasn't even my favourite. She seemed very entitled, and was constantly having things handed to her.

As a very avid fantasy reader, I found that this felt very much like a contemporary or a spy movie. The only fantastical part was the magic, which was cool at times, but seemed to only useful when the author seems it to be.

The only thing I really have to say I liked was, the little bit at the beginning when Arden and Rydan were going on there mission. Gave me spy movie vibes, which is half decent.

Also, Rydan was also very entitled? I just felt that all the characters were narrow minded and only opened up their perspective when it was to their advantage.

bottom of page