top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Leah on the Offbeat Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: Leah of the Offbeat Author: Becky Albertalli

Published On: April 24, 2018

Started Reading On: August 1, 2018 Finished On: August 8, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.07 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

This book has been getting a lot of praise for the fact that it is a sequel to Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, while not getting nearly as much "high ratings" from those who are more seen in the limelight we can say.

The big thing I hear against this is how it feels like fanfiction. And I don't really see that. As someone who has read quite a bit of fanfiction, it is hard for me to see it as being like it. Yeah, everyone paired off neatly at the end, however when I read contemporary, I am unless I know it is a heartbreaking one, I am expecting things to warp up relatively nicely.

To be honest one of my favourite aspects of the plot of the book, was the whole senior year thing. I really enjoy seeing Leah and gang going through the process of figuring out prom, and college. I don't know, maybe it has to do with this book really hitting me in the 'holy crap I am graduating soon' feelings. As I am starting to give contemporary more of a go as of lately, I have to say, I am so interested in seeing more books with the problems of having to leave you're high school friends and the problems coming from graduating.

Going onto the review, Leah's personality has got a lot of, disapproval, let's say. But as someone who,, if I may say, has a similar personality to her, I am full on with having more pessimistic main characters. Whenever Leah would take about how she is aware of her pushing away her friends and then feeling lonely afterwards, I felt that, because I have such a hard time keeping myself willingly to put in effort and going with everything regarding friends. So totally loving Leah's narration.

The romance was something I really enjoyed, I would have, like a lot of people seem to agree, to see more of them going to college and just to see more of their relationship develop. I just liked seeing them be two girls going back and forth on trying to figure out what is going on between them.

“Imagine going about your day knowing someone’s carrying you in their mind. That has to be the best part of being in love- the feeling of having a home in some else’s brain.”

“But I know what it's like to be not good enough, in some bone-deep fundamental way.”

“And in that moment--for a split second-- I feel it. How short that is. How soon everything changes. It's strange, because good-byes are a thing I can understand intellectually, but they almost never feel real. Which makes it hard to brace for impact. I don't know how to miss people when they're standing right in front of me.”

bottom of page