top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

A Reaper at the Gates Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: A Reaper at the Gates Author: Sabaa Tahir

Published On: June 12, 2018

Started Reading On: July 7, 2018 Finished On: July 11, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

Oh my god this book was so intense. While the previous one kind of ended on a more coming moment, this one did not. Holy crap, I am going to have so much to talk about in this review. So before I start, I am going to be doing so much spoiler filled decision, so please be warned.

My child Elias, I just wanted to see so much from him but, we saw the most from Laia and Helene (her chapters being labeled as Blood Strike) and I just wanted to know more about what was going on with him with the whole Soul Catcher thing, but I am in the minority with it since he had more internal battles than external. To be completely honest, I just find how the magic revolving death in this world works to be so interesting.

Helene is slowly getting there for me as being a more favourite character. She isn't really there yet, considering Elias is my favourite. However, with everything going to hell where she is, you really got to see more politics I guess, along with more war related concepts. I also liked seeing Helene showing her grief regarding her family dying and her loyalty to her remaining sister. It was the strongest emotion you really get to see from her, in that scale and it was interesting to say the least.

Laia goes through a lot in this book. She has her brother back, but she really doesn't have much going for her. However, she finally rises and gets into alliance with Helene. I don't really know, I feel like everything about her I already spoke about.

The last Elias chapter killed me. With his chapter title changed from Elias to Soul Catcher, really hurt because you know it is not Elias anymore. As well as when he discovered that the Wisp is actually his grandmother. I need the fourth book.

“Strange how monsters can reach from beyond the grave, as potent in death as they were in life.”

“Curse this world for what it does to the mothers, for what it does to the daughters. Curse it for making us strong through loss and pain, our hearts torn from our chests again and again. Curse it for forcing us to endure.”

“Hope is stronger than fear. It is stronger than hate.”

bottom of page