top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

City of Ashes Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: City of Ashes Author: Cassandra Clare

Published On: March 25, 2008

Started Reading On: March 15, 2018 Finished On: March 21, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

If you are not aware, I am currently taking part in a readathon this year, where I am going to be reading every book in the Shadowhunter Chronicles, and because I have fallen behind so I am only now just catching up.

I am really enjoying this reread. The first two books are not my favourites in the series, and the whole sibling subplot really wasn't my favourite thing. However I do have to go through those things just to get to where things gets better and become more easier to tolerated.

Anyways, I am really enjoying seeing to see how the characters interact, and having the new characters being introduced, and I am loving seeing them at the beginning of their arcs. Like Maia, I almost forgotten how much better and different she is in the books compared to the TV show. I really liked her in the books and I am just happy to see her.

Also, I really liked being reintroduced to all of the different kinds of Downworlders, and really getting to see what is going on, and how complex all the different societies. Like the Fey, I had almost forgotten how different this world is compared to the other urban fantasy I read.

“I've heard the word 'fear'. I simply choose to believe it doesn't apply to me.”

“If you really love something, you never try to keep it the way it is forever. You have to let it be free to change.”

“Fate is never fair. You are caught in a current much stronger than you are; struggle against it and you'll drown not just yourself but those who try to save you. Swim with it. and you'll survive”

bottom of page