top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

City of Bones Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: City of Bones

Author: Cassandra Clare

Published On: March 27, 2007

Started Reading On: February 7, 2018

Finished On: March 14, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.12 out of 5 stars

My Star Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

This book took me so long to reread and that is probably because I put it to aside to finish other books that I took out from the library or for book clubs that I am in, and with this book I was rereading it from this Shadowhunter books read along, but I am slightly behind so we are working on catching up.

It has been awhile since I read this one and you can really see how much Cassandra Clare has developed over her time through her writing, and I am so excited to see how much her writing has changed as I continue my way through the rereading. However I find it very interesting to see where the story was and to be reminded what was the beginning of these huge book series that had so many different series coming off of them.

In this books, I was just very amazed about how much the characters has develop from this book, like my favourite Alec was so far in the closet he was in Narnia, and I just can't wait to witness him come out. Also my girl Izzy, I am so excited for her to have a bigger part in the series and I am generally so excited to see everyone have a bigger part in the series.

Also, I forgot how annoying Clary was in the first books, because damn I just thought she was annoying in the TV show because she wasn't this annoying in the later books, and those were the most recent that I have read. However I have to say that I kind of enjoyed seeing how much she has changed.

And the whole love triangle thing, was very unnecessary and I am grateful that it doesn't really last very long. Jace has been wonderful, and I feel like he is pretty much how I remembered him to be, and Simon, kind of pissed me off a bit. I also forgot how stupid the sibling plotline is.

Most of this review was me reminscing but I am going to be making a reviews for all the books that I don't have one up, as I am reading them so I apologise but it is mostly so that I have the entire Shadowhunter books done.

“The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he'd learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”

“Where there is love, there is often also hate. They can exist side by side.”

“It's your gift, to see the beauty and the horror in ordinary things. It doesn't make you crazy, just different.”

bottom of page