top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

They Both Die at the End Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: They Both Die at the End Author: Adam Silvera

Published On: September 5, 2017

Started Reading On: March 5, 2018 Finished On: March 6, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.17 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

Third review in a row where the book features a bisexual main character and I don't think I'll be able to stop myself from finding more to read. I am going to say this now, it was a sad book, but is wasn't enough to make me cry, and I think that might be because I was expecting to cry, so my body was like ha nope.

I would not be able to handle living in this world. With the idea of being told around twenty four hours before you are going to die, that you will be dead soon. I would probably would take the train straight to nope town and I can guarantee that I would probably have about fifty billion end of life crisis. Well, I guess that you do get use to that kind of thing, but I don't think I would be able to live through my own funeral.

The two main characters, Rufus and Mateo, are so different it is unbelievable. Rufus is hard edged bisexual who is ready to beat the crap out of others, while Mateo is a little nerd who just wants to help people. And I loved their dynamics, and I found the connection that they had right away really wonderful and enduring.

At the beginning of the novel when we were first introduced to the characters, I immediately felt uncomfortable with Rufus. I found him to be very out there and completely the opposite of the way I am regarding things like that. While with Mateo I almost pitied since he was so afraid of what could happen when he leaves his apartment. But once they met I could not stop reading the story.

One of the things that really irritate me about the story was the fact that there would be characters being introduced saying that they did not get the phone call, even though at the time they didn't really have a point of being there and I couldn't bring myself to care for them.

My favourite thing about the novel though was the adventures that the boys went on, and as they go, getting closer to each other. It just seemed like such a fun time, even though I would never do half the things that they did.

“You may be born into a family, but you walk into friendships. Some you’ll discover you should put behind you. Others are worth every risk.”

“...stories can make someone immortal as long as someone else is willing to listen.”

“Sometimes the truth is a secret you're keeping from yourself because living a lie is easier.”

bottom of page