top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Our Dark Duet Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: Our Dark Duet Author: Victoria Schwab

Published On: June 13, 2017

Started Reading On: January 27, 2018 Finished On: January 28, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.28 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 5 out of five stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

What a wild ride. I can't express how much I love reading Victoria Schwab's writing and how beautiful her stories are. I have really loved this book and I am so excited to continue on with my adventures within her worlds.

The big thing I loved in this besides pretty much everything, would be the world that she created. I continued to ravell in the complexity of the world and the different kinds of monsters. I also liked seeing what it was like in the cities besides Verity where most of the chaos takes place and where the monsters are mostly located, and it was interesting to see how the cities are not all affected by the same things, and lack the monsters.

After the events of the last book August is different and is having a hard time finding himself. He is really having what you could call an identity crisis, on a whole other level and I loved seeing him throughout the time he is recovering. I also liked how you see him step up and do what he has to do in the process of helping others because he is definitely a better person than I am.

And my girl Kate, you see her still keeping people at arms length, even though there is people trying to do their best to help her. While she was in Prosperity you can see it quite clearly. She was very determined to do things her way without having to worry about others getting hurt. But in the end she comes back and works with August and his family to fight Sloan and Alice. As well, Kate is still being a badass as usually and I love her with all my heart.

I am not going to say exactly what happened at the end, because for one, there is only so much you can do within the spoilery thoughts without feeling bad, and two, I am not about to spoil something this big. But holy crap it was hella emotional and I am still shocked about how far Victoria Schwab is willingly to go in her books.

“Mourning was its own kind of music—the sound of so many hearts, of so many breaths, of so many standing together.”

“Do you ever wonder why music brings a soul to surface? What makes beauty work as well as pain?”

“There was a strange place, between knowing and not knowing. A place where things could live in the back of your head without weighing down your heart.”

bottom of page