top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

This Savage Song Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: This Savage Song

Author: Victoria Schwab

Published On: July 5, 2016

Started Reading On: January 23, 2018

Finished On: January 24, 2018

Average Star Rating: 4.14 out of 5 stars

My Star Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

God, I love this book. After spending some time to reread this book before finally reading Our Dark Duet, I have to say it reminded me how much I love this story. As well as how much of a writing genius Victoria Schwab is.

One of my favourite characters, when I first read the book, was Kate. Because damn, she is such a badass little bean, who was just trying to make her dad proud even though she knows that he isn't a good person and maybe she shouldn't anymore. I just really liked how even though her opinions and that she went through some kind of character development (duh), she still was who she was at her core: a girl who can kick ass and wants to find a home.

One of my favourite things about the book was Kate's and August's relationship. It is platonic and it just makes me so happy to see a non romantic relationship, that could turn romantic, but doesn't need to rely on the romantic aspect for it to succeed. And by now, unless you don't tend to come to my blog often, I love books that focus on friendships, and I also believe that the last few books I reviewed followed a very similar footprint in this aspect.

August was an interesting character in a different way that Kate is. While Kate was willing to cross lines to get her father's attention, August just wanted to help people. He was ready to join his adoptive father's army to help others, and fight for other people to be happy and I feel like he is just a different kind of character and I appreciate him very greatly.

I really enjoyed the plot as a whole. The dance between Kate and August about identities and then them helping each other. I just bloody love this book okay.

“I mean, most people want to escape. Get out of their heads. Out of their lives. Stories are the easiest way to do that.”

“I'd rather be able to see the truth than live a lie.”

“The beautiful thing about books was that anyone could open them.”

bottom of page