top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

A Darker Shade of Magic Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: A Darker Shade of Magic

Author: V.E. Schwab

Published On: February 24, 2015

Started Reading On: November 21, 2017

Finished On: November 22, 2017

Average Star Rating: 4.07 out of 5 stars

My Star Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

I love Victoria Schwab's writing. This would be the second book of hers that I have read, and the first one I read was her YA book This Savage Song. I love how she writes words, I just can't explain it. To be completely honest, it has been awhile since I read this book clearly so I am going to be going to be using the book as by reference point. (I shouldn't have stop taking notes on books, makes life really hard.)

The main character Kell was really amazing. I enjoyed reading his story and how willing he would sacrifice himself for his adoptive brother. I have to say, I loved learning about the magic and the parallel worlds, since all I really want is to know more about the particular spells especially the memory one that is on Kell's arm.

I found the magic in general very interesting, like I know that spells are cast via blood being spilled, but what are the chances of you bleeding out or something else going wrong. That is my question, what are the restrictions and rules of the magic?

Kell and Rhy's relationship was amazing. Their relationship was pretty similar to my sister's and mine relationship on a lot larger scale. Since you know I didn't tie my soul to hers and what not. Their relationship was a driving point of the novel, no matter what goes on in Kell's life, he is always there for Rhy and I think it is nice that they both had each other's backs.

Lila was such a wonderful badass, crossdressing pirate. I mean what a wonderful character. I love how she was not going to let Kell tell her what she can or cannot do, even though she is in a unfamiliar world. Like she has no shits for anything that interferes with her life.

“I'd rather die on an adventure than live standing still.”

bottom of page