top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding Author: Alexandra Bracken

Published On: September 5, 2017

Started Reading On: September 7, 2017 Finished On: September 20, 2017

Average Star Rating: 3.97 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

So I am just going to say now that while reading this book I was getting major Percy Jackson vibes. I have no idea if there is anyone else who feels that way. The thing that really put me into that mindset was the humour and the way the main character acted throughout the novel.

Speaking of Prosper I found his interactions with Alastor very interesting, even though I didn't really understand the rules of the fiends. Like they gave me Supernatural demon vibes, but then he is seen in an animal form, and I wish they explained more about that part of the story, compared to other aspects. Anyways, I liked how when Alastor did control Prosper's body, you could tell that it was him, in action and in voice, giving them both their own personalities.

While I loved reading from Prosper's point of view, my favourite character would have to be Nell. She was such a sarcastic and wonderful character. She didn't take shit from nobody, and I loved how we got to see her practice her magic, with her being a witch, which I kind of loved. She is always trying to prove to her father that she was capable of doing what she wants and what is her business.

Back to Prosper very briefly. I really enjoyed seeing him reveal his more artistic side. Being humble about his drawings, and when he has Alastor in him (that sounded wrong but I had no other way to write it), he starts questioning how much of the skills he proved was his or because of Alastor. And as creative people tend to go, you really get to questioning your skills.

Prospers sister Prue, really confused me, like god I hated her sometimes. She acts like she is better than everyone else in the room, and only when her twin brother who spent so much time trying to make her happy while she was ill, to only show her love for him when he was literally having his life threatened.

"I know she was born in 1945, despises puppies, and enjoys trying to kill her grandchildren with daggers in dungeons."

"If a man desires respect, he must not frame his every sentence as a question."

bottom of page