top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Eliza and Her Monsters Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: Eliza and her Monsters

Author: Francesca Zappia

Published On: May 30, 2017

Started Reading On: August 12, 2017

Finished On: August 26, 2017

Average Star Rating: 4.29 out of 5 stars

My Star Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

Going into this book I had a lot of hype and expectations on how much I would enjoy this novel. Since I read another one of her books and I was very surprised about how much I ended up liking that one. And I have to say, I was pleasantly impressed from this novel, even with my lack of contemporary books I enjoyed.

My favourite part of this novel is for sure the images of Eliza drawings and the glimpses of the webcomic. Just seeing parts Monstrous Sea, which is the main focus of the story, I liked having an idea about. One of my favourite images was on page 13.

The way Eliza acted about her webcomic and how so much of her being is put into making sure her fans get at least a page everyday and being online to talk about a TV show. Eliza felt very real to me, and I really liked her and I am not one to be a fan of contemporary main characters.

I have to say, my favourite character would have to be Max, purely because of the fact that he was Canadian. What can I say I am usually always a fan of Canadians, it is just ingrained into my brain. I also really like Emmy as well, she was such a wonderful friend, and I can't express how much I love seeing them interact with Eliza.

The chapter where Eliza got the letter back from her favourite author whose name is not in my notes so I have no idea who the hell she is. Anyways, I found that letter very inspiring.

Favourite Quotes

"Nature defies my anger. Nature defies every emotion I have. I can't complain to nature, or appeal it, or rage at it. Nature doesn't care about me." (page 265)

"Nature doesn't care who I am, online or offline, and it doesn't mind if I need to lie here for a while." (page 308)

"Broken people don't hide from their monsters. Broken people let themselves be eaten." (page 322)

"Life doesn't end with the story." (page 339)

bottom of page