top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Rainbow-A-Thon Day 6


Update:

House Colour/White: Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman (Read)

Orange: Percy Jackson's Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

Green: Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia (Read)

Pink/Purple: the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan (Read)

Black: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

At this point in the readathon I am pretty happy with how much reading I managed to get done, so I am giving myself the chance to read whatever I am in the mood for, and maybe get some editing done, and also preparing for the new school year I am going to be starting in a week. Anyways the challenge for today is to talk about the diverse books you read this year, I am going to be dividing my post into categories of different ideas of diverse reads.

Diversity in Race:

I am going to start of by saying a rather popular one, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, which focuses on the Black Lives Matter movement and police brutality.

The next book is Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh, which is basically a Japanese Mulan retelling.

Diversity in Mental Illness:

The first book is going to be Made You Up by Francesca Zappia, which has a main character who has been diagnosed with paranoia and schizophrenia.

And another book also by Francesca Zappia is Eliza and Her Monsters, and the main character has anxiety.

Diversity in Disability:

I only really have one book for this and it would have to be You're Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner, which features multiple deaf characters.

Diversity in Sexuality:

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst, one of my favourite books of 2017, which features a female-female relationship.

And More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera, which has a gay main character and deals a lot more with the the view of sexuality.

Other:

I just need to make a special area for Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, since they belong in all of the categories.

So there it is I will see you tomorrow the final update and the final challenge, and with that Kendra is out, peace!

bottom of page