top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • 818733_media_512x512
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Hate U Give Review


Goodreads page link here.

Title: The Hate U Give Author: Angie Thomas

Published On: February 28, 2017

Started Reading On: July 24, 2017 Finished On: July 2, 2017

Average Star Rating: 4.62 out of 5 stars My Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My Thoughts (Spoilers)

So, a review for a contemporary. I am going to say before I get into my thoughts more, that contemporary is not my favourite genre, so even though this is a pretty good book, I never enjoy them as much as others do.

At some parts of the book, I found myself skipping over words. I kept looking for more information about the shooting and what was going on behind the scenes of that. I didn't really get that though. I was continually wanting to hear more on what was going on after she witness her friend die.

On the flip side the ending was one of my personal favourite scenes. I like watching the heart of the protests and the violence against black people. Showing the truth behind the problems that is being lessened by people with power. This goddamn scene was wonderful, it even had some banter, it was the scene I was wanting the entire book.

Starr's family's dynamic, was so amazing. I loved how her brother and her had each others back and will slap a bitch for each other. Too sibling love, going from being willing to slap a bitch to beating the crap out of each other. I should know, I have two younger ones.

Talking about family, the last thing I can remember wanting to talk about, is how we had present parents who where there the entire novel. Because we all know the trope of the non-present parents.

bottom of page